Computer Video Games....I'm A Newbie - Any Advice On The Cool Ones?

I bought a new latest and greatest desktop last month and I thought I might make the plunge into the video game arena.....need some help on the cool ones and the not so cool ones.

Thanks, Glaken

PONG still rocks. Congrats on the new computer BTW. Mostly play XBOX however if you like sports games MVP Baseball 2005 for the PC is a must have. I have yet to find a major flaw in that game. The only thing I could come up with is some pitchers throw a 86 MPH Changeup and top out at 85MPH with a fastball.

Right now Guild Wars is the hot one. Have to play online, but since you are on all the time shouldn't be an issue.

Also Battlefield another online game, more mature basically a historical war time game.
Dungeon Siege II the newest one to come out. Can play online or stand alone, a lot like Diablo. Online is a little slow right now since it is so new and not a lot of people have it, but even offline it has a lot to offer.

BTW what kind of video card are you running in it? If it is stock it might not be the best for the games I listed. They will play, but slow or choppy.

bosox1086

EOG Member
Pirates! from Sid Meier. An all timer. Played it years ago for hours and hours on the C64. Top 5 all time favorite.

There is a Fry's Electronics Mega store close to me where you can play the games on their computers before you buy them .... I'm gonna check it out.....plus I have never had a PS2 or xbox .... I have always been on the go and I'm a jogger and try and hit the gym 4 times a week, but now I thought I might give them a try.

JJ you are wrong for saying that there is no comparison between Computer Gaming and Xbox.

Glacken it depends what kind off games you like the most. First person shooters? Then give Half Life 2 a try.

Guild Wars is a waste of like just like World of Warcraft. You can call it crack because it's so addictive. Trust me you don't want to get into it.