How hard is it to get jobs in sports w/ a sports management degree?

mofome

Banned
Re: How hard is it to get jobs in sports w/ a sports management degree?

you interested personally lk?

My brother has a dergree from St Johns in New York. Worked for the old "sportsticker" in NY.

He plays on the New York Times Softball Team, his buddies work for ESPN. Still cant get in...The money blows from ESPN. The cheapest outfit there is.

roach23

Banned

Impossible unless you know some one. Or if you want to work in some minor league soccer team or something like that. I have 2 friends who majored in sports management in college. Both are now in sales.

August West

Rambler

Its not impossible, but you def have to pay your dues. I graduated in '98 w/ a Sports Mgt degree, and have worked in marketing in the gaming industry for the last 10 yrs. Don't plan on making serious money until your in your 40's though.

roach23

Banned

that's what i figured..

Not saying its impossible. But lots of those young GMs or front office guys seem to be business majors from Ivy League schools.

Though I read an article about a year or two ago about a kid from South Jersey who is one of the higher guys in the SD front office. He started out as the speed gun guy at Pads games for a year or two while he worked a regular job...and after a while kept getting promoted to better positions in the organization.

what about just becoming like a scout or something like that..

winkyduck

TYVM Morgan William!!!

Impossible unless you know some one. Or if you want to work in some minor league soccer team or something like that. I have 2 friends who majored in sports management in college. Both are now in sales.